Folk Classics Across the Globe from YourClassical

In this program, we explore classical pieces inspired by folk music from composers and cultures that have often existed on the fringes of the classical canon. You’ll hear three world premieres of folk music recorded live in the Maud Moon Weyerhaeuser Studio at Minnesota Public Radio’s headquarters in St. Paul. The pieces have been recorded by five guest musicians from those cultures who will tell us more about the music in the program.

Encore from May 2024

Ines Guanchez

Ines is an assistant digital producer for YourClassical MPR. Born into a Venezuelan family, Ines graduated from the University of Minnesota with master’s degrees in mass communications and piano performance. Afterward, she founded the Dúo Ávila, named after the Ávila national park in Caracas, with fellow Venezuelan violinist Sofia Schutte. The ensemble focuses on music by composers outside of the classical canon and has performed in venues in Minnesota and Costa Rica. She previously interned for Minnesota Public Radio in 2018.


One hour

Show Clock

Download clock

Digital Assets

Promote your broadcasts with our digital assets for web and social media.


ContentDepot File Transfer

Promo spot available: July 2, 2024
Playlist available: July 2, 2024
Rundown available: July 2, 2024
Date content will be available: July 2, 2024


Broadcast Window

July 2, 2024 - September 30, 2024

Broadcast Rights

Affiliate stations may carry this program multiple times before October 1, 2024. The program must be carried in its entirety. No excerpting is permitted. Simulcast streaming rights are available for this program. Prior to carrying this program, stations must contact their American Public Media Station Relations Representative.


  • Margaret Bonds: Troubled Water — Maria Thompson Corley, piano
  • Gabriela Lena Frank: Tarqueada, from Leyendas: An Andean Walkabout — Del Sol String Quartet
  • Carlos Bonnet (arr. Alfonso Lopez Chollett): Quitapesares — Jesús Guzman Fajardo, violin; Inés Guanchez Mercado, piano
  • Chen Yi: Muqam: Fierily, from Chinese Folk Dance Suite for Violin and Orchestra — Cho-Liang Lin, violin; Lan Shui, conductor; Singapore Symphony Orchestra
  • Aida Isakova: Sivka-Burka, Kolobok, Baba Yaga, Sleeping Tsarevna and By the Will of the Pike, from Skazki — Osip Nikiforov, piano
  • Jerod Impichchaachaaha' Tate: Chokfi' — Jerod Impichchaachaaha' Tate, conductor; members of the San Francisco Symphony
  • Setareh Shafii: From One Land to the Other — Niloofar Sohi, viola; Jordan Buchholtz, piano
  • Sérgio Assad: Cuca, from Três Lendas Brasileiras — Vivi Vassileva, vibraphone; Lucas Campara Diniz, guitar

Questions about carrying APM Presents or your affiliation?